Beautiful people

“I ask you right here please to agree with me that a scar is never ugly. That is what the scar makers want us to think. But you and I, we must make an agreement to defy them. We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, I survived.”
― Chris Cleave, Little Bee

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

A friend of mine shared this quote with me tonight. I read it. Then, I read it again. And again. And then, one more time. It went straight into my journal as some of the most powerful words that I have read in a while.

I can’t help but think how different the world would be if we all could find the courage to embrace our scars, no matter the pain that caused them. (Side note: I fully acknowledge that this sucks. Pain sucks! Time does not heal all wounds, the scars always remain as Rose Kennedy so eloquently put it. I do believe, though, with time, we can look beyond the pain of our scars and seek the beauty in them instead.)

I think of the many beautiful souls that I have been privileged to meet in my lifetime–souls that have never been able to see  their own beautiful selves. They view their scars as flaws instead of beauty marks.

We must see all scars as beauty. Okay?”

Because these beautiful scars? These beautiful scars mean we are alive. These beautiful scars mean we survived. 

beautiful people--how they're made.preview

(from http://www.encognitive.com/node/18980)

One response to “Beautiful people”

  1. This quote has never left me. It resonates with me that in order to truly know Joy – you must also endure suffering. I love your ending to today’s blog, because those are the people that I am drawn to! Here is another one of my favorites, and somehow fitting for our “theme” this week.

    How far you go in life depends on your being tender with the young, compassionate with the aged, sympathetic with the striving and tolerant of the weak and strong. Because someday in your life you will have been all of these.

    George Washington Carver

Leave a comment