Project 333

Today, I am committing to (or at least some version of it) Project 333.  Have you heard of it? In a nutshell, you pare down your wardrobe to 33 items and commit to wearing only those things for three months. (Yes, you read that right, 33 items. I have more shoes than that. Are you kidding me?)  The 33 items include outerwear, jewelry, shoes, and regular clothing. You can keep your workout and lounge clothes. If you haven’t checked it out yet, it’s definitely worth the read. Anyways. . .

I stumbled upon Project 333 last fall when I was researching for a class that I was taking on the excess of consumption. The project inspired me to do a major closet cleaning– which after a couple of grief-induced closet meltdowns– I desperately needed.

Here’s my pile from round one. . .

IMAG1134

Yes, I am ashamed to admit, this was just my give away pile. At the same time I also packed up a tub of summer clothes and a few other things that aren’t pictured here.

Much to my surprise, I lived quite easily without the excess and getting dressed in the morning became MUCH easier. Go figure right?

As the spring months have begun to approach though, the urge to pick up new clothes has resulted in a few trips to the consignment store (and of course Goodwill) and my closet has began to fill up. . .

IMAG1713

As if on cue, I came across the Project 333 site again this afternoon. I’m taking it as a sign to try much harder this time around. April 1 is my target date to have my closet cleaned out.

I am going for it.

33 items?

Yikes!

I’m scared.

Wish me luck.

I’ll keep you posted. . .

And P.S. To my daughter, STOP laughing, now.

Check out how to get started on Project 333 here http://theproject333.com/getting-started/ .

2 thoughts on “Project 333

  1. Oh my goodness, Missy – We really are met to be friends. I have been trying, trying, TRYING to pare down everything. I think I would have loved that class. I am a less-is-more girl trapped in a materialistic world. I love this idea! I am taking the plunge!

Leave a Reply

